Eighth annual ‘Lifetime Achievement Awards’

The committee of the (UK) All Party Parliamentary Group on Archives andHistory has announced that it will honour the work of historian Sir TomDevine and archivist Bruce Jackson with its annual ‘Lifetime AchievementAwards’.

ARA Logo 21Historian Professor Sir Tom Devine and Archivist Bruce Jackson Honoured by All Party Parliamentary Group on Archives and History

Eighth annual ‘Lifetime Achievement Awards’ to be Presented Next Week in Westminster

The committee of the (UK) All Party Parliamentary Group on Archives and History has announced that it will honour the work of historian Sir Tom Devine and archivist Bruce Jackson with its annual ‘Lifetime Achievement Awards’.

The winners will receive their certificates formally at a special lunch in the House of Commons on Tuesday 17 July 2018, immediately after the Group’s annual general meeting.

Scotland’s Pre-eminent Historian

Sir Tom Devine OBE is Professor Emeritus in the University of Edinburgh and long regarded as Scotland’s pre-eminent historian. He is the first Scottish historian to win the award (George Mackenzie is a previous Scottish archivist winner). Sir Tom has written and published on all aspects of Scottish history, from the middle ages through to the modern day. He is a frequent media commentator and active campaigner on issues as diverse as Scottish independence, protection of battlefield sites, Brexit, Scotland’s diaspora, and much more.

Nick Thomas-Symonds, MP – Principal Chair of the Group - commented:

“Sir Tom has long been a top authority on the history of Scotland and expert at weaving a deep understanding of Scotland’s past into the debates that will shape its present and future. I am delighted that he is the first Scottish historian to receive the All-Party Parliamentary Group’s Lifetime Achievement Award and that his wife Catherine is able to join us in accepting it.”

An Outstanding Career Preserving Lancashire’s Heritage

Bruce Jackson retired in 2014 as County Archivist for Lancashire after over twenty years in the role (and 38 years in the sector as a whole) and as County Heritage Manager. During his tenure he pioneered the introduction of professional records management standards and the early use of computers in the sector. He also worked to build connections and learning among professionals across other information and heritage sectors. After graduating from the University of Liverpool, he began work at Strathclyde Regional Council and Strathclyde University, before moving to Tyne and Wear Archives. Actively involved for over thirty years in both the ARA and the Association of Chief Archivists in Local Government, he still chairs the Archive Service Accreditation partnership on behalf of the ARA.

Lord Clark of Windermere, PC, co-Chair of the All-Party Group, said:

“I am delighted that the All-Party Group has chosen to recognise Bruce Jackson’s contribution to the recordkeeping sector, notably – and I declare a personal passion here! - to the rich heritage of north-west England. In retirement Bruce continues to devote time and energy to the next generation of the profession, especially as Chair of the successful Archive Service Accreditation scheme, epitomising lifetime commitment and ongoing lifetime achievement. I am delighted that Bruce’s wife Fiona is able to join us in celebrating him receiving this award.”

Notes for editors:

The (UK) All Party Parliamentary Group on Archives and History has around 80 members and is a cross-party, non-partisan body that aims to support the record-keeping sector and promote the study of history. The Group was established in 2010 under the chairmanship of the (now-retired) Dr Hywel Francis, MP. It has been co-Chaired since the autumn of 2016 by Nick Thomas-Symonds, MP and Lord Clark of Windermere, PC.

The Archives and Records Association (UK & Ireland) acts as the secretariat of the Group. The ARA is the leading professional and membership body for archivists, records managers and conservators in the British Isles. It currently has around 2,500 members. For more details, visit: www.archives.org.uk or contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

This is the eighth All Party Group Lifetime Achievement Awards to honour the work of record-keepers and historians. Previous recipients are:

  • Eric Hobsbawm and Lord (Hugh) Thomas in 2011
  • Lord (Asa) Briggs and Sarah Tyacke CB in 2012
  • Professor Jose Harris and Gerry Slater in 2013
  • Lord (Kenneth) Morgan and George Mackenzie in 2014
  • Sir Keith Thomas and Patricia Methven in 2015
  • Professor Sir Michael Howard and Heather Forbes in 2016
  • John Dunbabin and Michael Moss in 2017