Lifetime Achievement Awards announced....

Historian Sir Michael Howard and Archivist Heather Forbes Honoured by AllParty Parliamentary Group on Archives and History.                                               

Historian Sir Michael Howard and Archivist Heather Forbes Honoured by All Party Parliamentary Group on Archives and History

Sixth annual ‘Lifetime Achievement Awards’ to be Presented in October in Westminster

Parliamentary copyright images are reproduced with the permission of ParliamentThe committee of the (UK) All Party Parliamentary Group on Archives and History will honour the work of historian Professor Sir Michael Howard and archivist Heather Forbes with its annual ‘Lifetime Achievement Awards’ in 2016. The winners will receive their certificates formally at a special lunch in the House of Commons on 11 October 2016.

The out-going Chair of the Group, Chris Skidmore, MP nominated Sir Michael and Richard Graham, MP nominated Ms Forbes. The Group committee approved the nominations.

The Outstanding Military Historian of his Generation

Professor Sir Michael Howard OM, CH, CBE, MC, FBA is the outstanding British military historian of his generation. He was formerly Chichele Professor of the History of War, Emeritus Fellow of All Souls College, Regius Professor of Modern History at Oxford University, Robert A. Lovett Professor of Military and Naval History at Yale University and founder of the Department of War Studies, King's College London.  

Chris Skidmore, MP commented:

“Sir Michael has influenced generations of students of military history, including members of the All-Party Group. His work to date has achieved the two most difficult challenges facing any modern historian: adding to scholarship, and making the material accessible to a wide, popular audience. He has set the benchmark in both; very few others have matched him and none have bettered him. We are honoured that he has accepted this award.”

‘Leading Innovator’

Heather Forbes is Head of Archives at Gloucestershire County Council and one of the UK’s most respected archivists. She joined the then Gloucestershire Record Office as County and Diocesan Archivist in June 2005. She began her career in the Greater London Record Office (now the London Metropolitan Archives), following which she worked at Hampshire Record Office and then Canterbury Cathedral, building a reputation for both service excellence and professionalism.

Lord Clark of Windermere, co-Chair of the All-Party Group, said:

“Heather Forbes is a leading innovator in, and practitioner of, partnership working in the archives and records sector. At Hampshire Record Office, she pioneered the collaborative development of early cataloguing software for archivists (CALM) based on international standards. In Gloucestershire, she has developed one of the country’s most modern archive services, using strong financial and grant-management skills, as well as innovative technology and promotional strategies.”

Notes for editors:

The (UK) All Party Parliamentary Group on Archives and History has around 80 members and is a cross-party, non-partisan body that aims to support the archives sector and promote the study of history. The Group was established in 2010 under the chairmanship of the (now-retired) Dr Hywel Francis, MP. It has been co-Chaired since July 2015 by Chris Skidmore, MP and Lord Clark of Windermere.

The Archives and Records Association (UK & Ireland) acts as the secretariat of the Group, which is a cross-party, non-partisan body. The ARA is the leading professional and membership body for archivists, records managers and conservators in the British Isles. It currently has around 2,400 members and has been growing steadily for the past four years.

This will be the sixth All Party Group Lifetime Achievement Awards to honour the work of archivists and historians. In 2011, the Group honoured Eric Hobsbawm and Lord (Hugh) Thomas; in 2012 Lord (Asa) Briggs and Sarah Tyacke CB; in 2013, Professor Jose Harris and Gerry Slater; in 2014, Lord (Kenneth) Morgan and George Mackenzie; and in 2015, Sir Keith Thomas and Patricia Methven.