ARA awards Ellis Prize to Dr Susan J Davies

Ellis Prize recognises 'substantial contribution' to the sector

The Archives and Records Association (UK & Ireland) has awarded the Ellis Prize to Dr Susan J Davies.


The award was made to Dr Davies by ARA Chair David Mander at the ARA annual conference on 27 August in Gateshead Newcastle. David Mander praised the ‘substantial contribution’ which Dr Davies had made to the sector and to the profession.  

The Ellis Prize is given, usually every three years, to recognise excellent work in the sector and ‘significant contribution to archive theory and practice’. The Ellis Trophy for 2104 reads: ‘Awarded to Dr Susan J Davies for excellence as an educator and provider of expert advice on archives’.  

Ellis Trophy photograph (right) by Brian H Davies.

Dr Davies taught at Aberystwyth University from 1979 to 2008 in the Department of History and Welsh History. She was also attached to the Department of Information Studies from 1998 to 2008 and was Director of the MScEcon programmes in Archive Administration and Records Management. She established an MA in Heritage Studies.

Susan_and_DavidFrom 2008 to 2011 Dr Davies was a member of the Heritage Lottery Fund’s Expert Panel and from 2011 to 2013 an advisor on behalf of the HLF for a large archive digitisation project at Tate Britain.

Dr Davies’ PhD research was into medieval ecclesiastical history. She also has research interests in administrative and local history, manuscript and editorial work, heritage concepts and their role in society. 

Dr Davies has been a member of the ARA (and previously the Society of Archivists) since the 1980s. Her thoughts on accepting the Ellis Prize will be published in ARC magazine and made available widely in the sector.

The Ellis Prize is made possible by an endowment to the (then) Society of Archivists in 1972 by Roger Ellis, in memory of his parents Harry and Sybil Ellis.

Previous winners of the Ellis Prize include: Vic Gray, Michael Cook, Rosemary Dunhill, Dr Felix Hull, Dr D B Robinson, Peter Walne, Dorothea Oschinskey and Dr A E J Hollaender.